Contemporary and Social Issues Khilafat

Letters Sent to World Leaders by Head of Ahmadiyya Muslim Community During Covid-19 Pandemic (2020)

His Holiness, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad (aba), Worldwide Head of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, Khalifatul Masih V

Introduction

The Review of Religions is honoured to present letters to world leaders sent during the Covid-19 pandemic by His Holiness, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad (aba), Worldwide Head of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, Khalifatul Masih V (5th Successor to the Promised Messiah (as)). A few days earlier, an official press release preceded the publication of these letters by the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community’s International Press Office.

In these historic letters, His Holiness (aba) urges world leaders to consider the paralysing and devastating effects of Covid-19 as a Divine warning for mankind, and draws their attention towards recognising the Creator whilst heeding them to prevent an outbreak of a World War.

In 2012 The Review of Religions published for the first time a series of historic letters that his Holiness (aba) sent to world leaders. Now in 2020, The Review of Religions is honoured once again to present new and historic letters written by His Holiness (aba).

There are 17 letters that were sent by His Holiness (aba) of which 14 were to heads of state or national leaders of countries which include the leaders of Australia, Canada, China, France, Germany, Ghana, India, Israel, Japan, Nigeria, Russia, Sierra Leone, the United Kingdom and the United States of America.

In addition to those 14 letters, all sent in the month of June, His Holiness(aba) also sent letters to His Holiness, Pope Francis as well as the Secretary General of the United Nations. Whilst sending a letter to the Prime Minister of Israel, His Holiness, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad (aba) also sent the same message in a letter to the Alternate Prime Minister of Israel, as he is due to assume the office of Prime Minister in future.

As some of the leaders were sent the same message, we have grouped them as one. Within that grouping we have published the full standalone letter to the President of France and alongside, we have cited the names of the leaders of the other nations who were sent the exact same message as well as the dates on which those letters were sent. We used the letter to the President of France as the sample letter because France has especially attracted recent global media interest.

His Holiness added the following line in his letter to President Donald Trump of the United States of America: “… it is imperative that the leader of the nation sets an example for the rest of society. For the sake of peace and harmony of any nation, it is a prerequisite that the government, local authorities and law enforcement agencies treat all of their citizens equally, irrespective of their skin colour or ethnicity. In this regard, the expectation of absolute justice and non-discrimination from the leader of a country such as the United States is especially high.”

In his Friday Sermon of 6th November 2020, His Holiness, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad (aba) said:

 A few months ago, during this coronavirus pandemic, I wrote letters to certain heads of state once again, including the President of France. In the letter, I warned him in the words of the Promised Messiah (as) saying that these trials and calamities are sent by God as a consequence of injustices. Thus, he must pay heed, end all injustices and establish peace and say only that which is based in truth. We have fulfilled our obligations and will continue to do so. Now it is up to others to decide whether or not they will take heed.”

Letter to His Holiness Pope Francis

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GU10 2AQ
United Kingdom

10 June 2020

 

His Holiness Pope Francis

Your Holiness,

Today, we are passing through a critical and dangerous period and it is because the world is plagued with such uncertainty and desperation that I write to you. The COVID-19 pandemic has brought the world to its knees and affected almost all nations and peoples. As a result, every person who feels the pain and suffering of humanity is riven with anxiety and restlessness. Therefore, I pray from the depths of my heart that may Allah the Almighty bring an end to this great trial and affliction so that mankind be saved from its virulent and devastating effects. Ameen.

History bears witness to the fact that such pandemics, catastrophes or natural disasters have always occurred at those times, and in those nations, where mankind has turned its back on its Creator. Recently, I came across a recent address given by Your Holiness in which you expressed your fear that if you were to ask God Almighty if He was satisfied with the conduct of humanity, God would respond by expressing His displeasure. In addition, you indicated your belief that the prevalence of natural disasters was a response and reaction to the wrongs and negligence of today’s world. I fully concur with these sentiments and I consider it to be the need of the time for this message to be spread far and wide. Most certainly, I believe that humanity must urgently turn its attention towards God Almighty so that it may be saved from further misery and potential destruction.

As the worldwide religious leader of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, I wish to inform you that the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community was established in 1889 in the small Indian village of Qadian. The Founder of our Community, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him), claimed that he was commissioned by Allah the Almighty with the principle objectives of bringing humanity back towards its Creator and of drawing the attention of all mankind towards fulfilling their duties and responsibilities to one another. He continuously emphasised the need for humanity to end all forms of disorder, cruelty and injustice and to fulfil the rights of one another in order to be saved from the Wrath of God Almighty.

Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him) said:

“The matter of a person’s faith or disbelief will be decided in the Hereafter. These natural disasters or calamities that occur or through which the nations of the past were destroyed were not merely due to their disbelief. Rather, they were ruined as a result of their arrogance, transgressions and cruelties. Even the Pharaoh did not perish due to his disbelief, rather due to the injustices and brutalities he perpetrated.”

 

As the Head of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, I have long urged the leaders of the world to act with justice and integrity and to make every possible effort towards establishing true and lasting peace in the world by ensuring that the rights of all nations and all peoples are respected.

In this regard, I wrote to your predecessor, His Holiness, Pope Benedict XVI in 2011 in an effort to promote inter-faith harmony and to highlight the importance for world religious leaders to stand together to promote peace and goodwill in the world. Given the precarious times through which we are now passing, I have deemed it necessary to also write to you to convey my belief that it is the foremost obligation of today’s religious leaders to guide mankind towards the reality that this virus is a grave warning to humanity and that the only escape route is to bow down in all humility before our Creator, to fulfil His rights and to fulfil the rights of one another so that the world may be transformed from its current desperate state into a haven of peace, love and compassion.

Furthermore, it cannot be assumed that once the COVID-19 pandemic passes that everything will suddenly be resolved. Rather, looming ahead on the horizon, I see further distress and strife, due to the unprecedented financial and economic strains that this virus has placed on the nations and people of the world. As a result, further conflict and division both within countries and between nations is a distinct possibility and so I fear that ever-deepening cracks in the world’s peace and stability will emerge in the coming months and years. Thus, it is vital that we alert the world to this risk before it is too late. As the global leader of the Roman Catholic Church, Your Holiness has a far reach and so I sincerely request you to utilise all your means and influence to guide the leaders and people of the world towards the urgent and paramount need to recognise their Creator and to fulfil the rights of one another so that humanity can be delivered from the harmful effects of this pandemic and from the devastation and destruction that a Third World War would undoubtedly unleash.

As the worldwide Head of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, I pledge that we are ever ready to assist and partake in every effort and action made for the sake of saving the world from ruin and for the sake of bringing humanity back towards its Creator.

I pray that Allah the Almighty blesses all endeavours for the sake of the peace and prosperity of the world and that the leaders and people of all religions work together in this noble cause, setting aside any differences of belief, for the sake of human salvation. Certainly, this is, and always will be, the primary objective of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community and we are making every possible effort in this cause.

I pray that may Allah the Almighty grant the world wisdom and understanding. Ameen.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Letter to the President of the Republic of Ghana
 - His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GUlO 2AQ
United Kingdom

His Excellency President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo
The President of the Republic of Ghana
Office of the President
Jubilee House
GP Digital Address GA-000-288
Accra, Ghana

26 June 2020

 

Dear Mr President,

Firstly, I wish to offer my deepest sympathies and sincere condolences to you, your government and the people of your nation for the loss of life and suffering caused by the ongoing pandemic in your country. Furthermore, I pray that the number of deaths and harm suffered remains as low as possible and that Ghana is soon declared completely free of COVID-19.

When we examine the financial impact of the coronavirus, it is clearly apparent that it is causing immense damage to economies across the world, including those of the most powerful countries on earth. History tells us that the worst of mankind is often witnessed when economies collapse, and the wealth and power of a country is threatened. Often, selfishness and greed prevail over justice and fairness and nations seek to usurp the rights of other countries to save themselves and, in this way, devastating wars and bloody conflicts have often been ignited by economic forces.

For generations, Africa’s wealth and resources were cruelly plundered and exploited by their colonial masters. However, even after independence, it cannot be said that African countries gained complete freedom, rather independence was granted in a way that meant African nations remained somewhat dependent and at the mercy of the major powers. As a result, rich and powerful countries continued to exploit and take benefit of Africa’s resources long after they were ostensibly liberated. Now, as their economies flounder and they are faced with previously unimaginable levels of debt, they may well cast their eyes once again in the direction of African nations and renew their efforts to exploit Africa’s natural resources for their own benefit.

As mentioned, a glance at history makes it clear that wars are often sparked by economic pressures and frustrations, as nations seek to unjustly fulfil their vested interests through warfare and violence. If, and when, a Third World War breaks out, it cannot be assumed that Africa will not be drawn into the conflict because the modern world has come to resemble a global village in which each nation and continent is now more connected than ever before.

Thus, it is my heartfelt prayer that may Allah the Almighty protect Ghana from any future wars or conflicts, and may He save your nation from ever again being exploited by external forces. Rather, I pray that Ghana may always flourish and remain peaceful.

Furthermore, it is my sincere request to you that in order to keep your nation safe and prosperous you continually endeavour your utmost to serve your people and to raise Ghana’s standing in the world so that it remains immune to the injustices and nefarious efforts of others. For this, all people within your country must stand united as one. Through unity is strength and so only if you are united can your nation rise, become truly independent and compete with the rest of the world.

Certainly, if the people of Ghana and the Government discharge their responsibilities with honesty and sincerity, and fulfil the rights of their Creator and of one another and forever uphold the principle of absolute justice, I firmly believe that you have the capability to become one of the most developed countries in the world. Indeed, you and the other African nations together, have the potential to lead the world.

Having lived in Ghana for several years, I have a special affinity and emotional bond with the people of your nation and so it is my sincere prayer that Ghanaians be those who set aside all tribal, religious and sectarian differences for the sake of the common good and are those who treat one another with love and consideration and fulfil the rights of Allah the Almighty so that your nation remains in the protective shade of His Grace and Mercy forevermore.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Letter to the Prime Minister of Australia - The Hon Scott Morrison MP

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GUlO 2AQ
United Kingdom

The Hon Scott Morrison MP
Prime Minister of Australia
Parliament House
CANBERRA ACT 2600

19 June 2020

Dear Prime Minister,

As a result of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, I take this opportunity to write to you and firstly, I wish to offer my deepest sympathies and sincere condolences to you, your government and the people of your nation for the loss of life and suffering caused by this virus in Australia. At the same time, I also wish to express my appreciation at the timely measures your Government has taken in order to limit the number of deaths and to contain the spread of the coronavirus. Nonetheless, many experts speak of the possibility of a second wave of COVID-19 and so nations must not become complacent and thus I urge your Government to continue to take all possible precautions to protect the people of your nation.

Though, I have never previously written to the Prime Minister of Australia, I have in the past written to the leaders of several nations urging them to prioritise the peace and security of the world and, in light of the turbulent times in which we find ourselves, I have now deemed it necessary to write to you.

Before turning to the real purpose of my letter, it is pertinent to mention that I am the worldwide religious leader of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, which was established in Qadian, India in 1889 by Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him). Upon his advent, he claimed that God Almighty had sent him as a Reformer for the whole world, according to the prophecies of the Holy Prophet of Islam (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him), in order to draw the attention of all humanity towards recognising its Creator and the need to fulfil His rights. Furthermore, he was sent to exhort mankind of the pressing and urgent need to fulfil the rights of the Creation of God so that peace, justice, and a spirit of mutual respect and love could be firmly established in all parts of the world.

Moreover, he forewarned that natural disasters were destined to increase as a warning to mankind from the heavens above to recognise the existence of God Almighty and to fulfil the rights of one another. History bears witness to the fact that, ever since he gave this warning, more than a century ago, the prevalence of natural disasters, such as earthquakes, has increased significantly, whilst other catastrophes and the spread of deadly viruses have regularly befallen the world with devastating and deadly results.

 

Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him) said:

“The matter of a person’s faith or disbelief will be decided in the Hereafter. These natural disasters or calamities that occur or through which the nations of the past were destroyed were not merely due to their disbelief. Rather, they were ruined as a result of their arrogance, transgressions and cruelties. Even the Pharaoh did not perish due to his disbelief, rather due to the injustices and brutalities he perpetrated.”

We believe that Allah the Almighty has created humankind as the best of all creation, and this is due to His special bond of love with mankind. Hence, as humans, we have a fundamental duty to respect and honour one another and to make every effort to build a harmonious world in which the rights of all peoples and communities are valued and protected, irrespective of caste, creed or colour.

If we fail to protect the rights of one another, then, apart from natural disasters or the spread of infectious diseases, we will also be forced to endure the horrifying consequences of self-inflicted, man-made catastrophes, as past generations experienced during the First and Second World Wars. Given that the modern world now resembles a global village, the results could be far deadlier and far-reaching and so it would be folly to assume that Australia and its people would be saved from involvement if a Third World War were to erupt.

History shows us that whenever a large-scale international crisis occurs it invariably leads to serious economic consequences and, unquestionably, COVID-19 has placed an unprecedented financial strain upon many countries and all signs point to the fact that the economic situation is set to get much worse in the coming weeks, months and years ahead. History also informs us that when economies suffer existing tensions are exacerbated or new hatreds develop, and the economic problems often provide the incendiary spark igniting the flames of physical warfare and conflict. In light of this, it has been concerning to learn from the media of a growing rift between Australia and China and I would certainly urge restraint and patience on all sides.

In this era, several nations have developed nuclear weapons and I fear that certain leaders might not even think twice before unleashing such inhumane and deadly weapons. Consequently, it is essential that instead of allowing frustrations to rise, grievances to build and hatreds to take root, all nations and all peoples must play their role in fostering a spirit of grace, compassion and tolerance within countries and across borders so that the long term peace of the world may be secured. All our efforts must be focused on protecting our children and future generations from the lethal consequences of those destructive weapons that have the potential to destroy the world as we know it and cause for generations of children to be born with crippling physical or intellectual disabilities. May it not be that instead of remembering us with love and pride, those who follow us despair at our mention and curse us for bequeathing to them a world of misery and grief.

In light of all that I have said, it is my sincere and ardent request to you, the leader of a large and prominent country, to play your role and make every possible effort to ensure the peace and security of the world so that your name is recounted amongst those leaders who strived for peace and justice, rather than amongst those who thrust the world towards warfare and conflict.

I pray that may Allah the Almighty enable you to act always for the betterment of humanity and in the interests of the peace and prosperity of the world.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

His Holiness, Hazrat Mirza Masroor Ahmad (aba) sent the same message to all the below world leaders. Therefore we have published the full text of one sample letter, to the President of France, to reflect the uniform message sent to all the other leaders below. We have included the date each letter was sent to the corresponding leader.

His Holiness added the following line in his letter to President Donald Trump of the United States of America: “… it is imperative that the leader of the nation sets an example for the rest of society. For the sake of peace and harmony of any nation, it is a prerequisite that the government, local authorities and law enforcement agencies treat all of their citizens equally, irrespective of their skin colour or ethnicity. In this regard, the expectation of absolute justice and non-discrimination from the leader of a country such as the United States is especially high.”

President of France
His Excellency Emmanuel Macron
5 June 2020
President of China
President Xi Jinping
5 June 2020
Chancellor of Germany
Her Excellency Angela Merkel
2 June 2020
Prime Minister of India
Narendra Modi
2 June 2020
Prime Minister of Israel
His Excellency Benjamin Netanyahu
2 June 2020
Alternate Prime Minister of Israel
His Excellency Benjamin Gantz
19 June 2020
Prime Minister of Japan
Shinzo Abe
5 June 2020
President of the Russia Federation
His Excellency Mr. Vladimir Putin
5 June 2020
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
Rt. Hon. Boris Johnson
2 June 2020
President of the United States of America
President Donald J. Trump
2 June 2020
Prime Minister of Canada
Mr Justin Trudeau
2 June 2020

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GUlO 2AQ
United Kingdom

President of the French Republic
His Excellency Emmanuel Macron
Palais de l’Elysee
55, Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honore
75008 Paris, France

5 June 2020

Dear Mr President,

I write to you to express my deepest sympathies and condolences to you, your government and to the people of your nation regarding the many people who have lost their lives in recent weeks due to the devastating effects of the COVID-19 pandemic.

This virulent disease has caused immense anxiety and distress to people from all nations, irrespective of whether they be young or old, rich or poor, mighty or weak. The virus has magnified the fallibility and frailty of human beings, whereby none of us can be certain of what tomorrow shall bring.

For some months, governments have been, according to their means, striving to control the outbreak and ultimately to eliminate the threat of COVID-19 as quickly as possible. Your government has also taken measures to combat the spread of the virus and to treat those who are suffering from its ill-effects and, thankfully, the results of the preventative measures and treatments seem to be working and have slowed the spread of the coronavirus.

Nonetheless, I consider it my duty and obligation, as the worldwide religious leader of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, to draw your attention towards my firm conviction that this pandemic must give all nations and their leaders pause for thought. I steadfastly believe that relying solely on material and worldly means to confront the exceptionally perilous situation the world faces is inadequate and insufficient. Rather, all nations must question why and how this virus has spread so rapidly, wreaked so much misery and caused for much of the world to be brought to a complete standstill. Through mere human activity it would not have been possible for this virus to have had such extensive and debilitating consequences and so, as a religious leader and a person of faith, I believe that the tribulations of the past few weeks have occurred according to the Decree of God Almighty and as a grave warning to mankind to reform and to forgo all forms of injustice and cruelty. This pandemic is a glaring message to mankind directing the people of the world to turn towards God Almighty and to fulfil His rights and those of our fellow human beings.

I should clarify that the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community was established in 1889 in the small Indian village of Qadian and its Founder, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him), claimed that he was sent as a Reformer by Allah the Almighty. He was charged with reforming humanity by bringing them back towards their Creator and by drawing the attention of all mankind towards fulfilling their responsibilities and duties to one another.

Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him) said:

“The matter of a person’s faith or disbelief will be decided in the Hereafter. These natural disasters or calamities that occur or through which the nations of the past were destroyed were not merely due to their disbelief. Rather, they were ruined as a result of their arrogance, transgressions and cruelties. Even the Pharaoh did not perish due to his disbelief, rather due to the injustices and brutalities he perpetrated.”

Moreover, it is not enough for us to simply be aware of our past, rather it is vital we learn the lessons that history imparts to us. Hence, we must not ignore or consider insignificant the way in which natural disasters, catastrophes or pandemics are occurring. Instead, we should acknowledge the fact that they are a manifestation of Divine Decree and a warning for mankind to relinquish all forms of injustice and to recognise God Almighty as the Creator of all Creation. In order to satisfy and draw nearer to God Almighty, it is necessary for mankind to fulfil His rights and those of His Creation.

Recently, Pope Francis publicly expressed his fear that if he were to ask God Almighty if He was satisfied with the conduct of humanity, God would respond by expressing His displeasure. Furthermore, Pope Francis implied that the prevalence of natural disasters was a response and reaction to the wrongs and negligence of today’s world. I concur with these sentiments and consider it imperative that the world’s leaders, governments and the public pay serious attention to the stark reality before us.

In light of the prevailing circumstances, it is my sincere and humble request that where your government is forming and enacting policies to stop the spread of the coronavirus, as the leader of your nation, you should also encourage the citizens of your country to fulfil the rights of one another and to be ready to make personal sacrifices in the cause of humanity.

Similarly, your government should strive to ensure the peace and security of society, both within your country and at a broader, international level. I sincerely request that you uphold the demands of justice and integrity by seeking to fulfil the rights of your own people and of all other nations.

Indisputably, COVID-19 has shaken the world’s economy to its very core and patently the coming weeks, months and years ahead will be exceedingly hazardous and challenging. Indeed, most people do not yet fully appreciate how precarious the world will be just a few months from now. If history teaches us anything it is that when governments selfishly prioritise their own national interests over and beyond the collective interest the results are invariably catastrophic. Inevitably, economic or trade wars occur that, in turn, foster hatred and jealousy and ultimately lead to open warfare and bloody conflicts in which unimaginably destructive weapons are unleashed obliterating all that is before them.

Consequently, with all humility and sincerity, I urge you as the leader of your nation to formulate policies that are based on justice so that the world may be saved from further misery and destruction.

With all my heart, I hope and pray that you will pay heed and take seriously my earnest words. For the sake of the peace of your nation and the wider world, I pray that you play your role in the formation of economic and geopolitical policies that respect the rights of all parties and through which all peoples and nations can benefit and unite.

May Allah the Almighty enable you and all other world leaders to act for the betterment of humanity and to leave behind a legacy of peace and prosperity for those who follow in our stead.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Letter to the President of The Federal Republic of Nigeria - His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GU10 2AQ
United Kingdom

His Excellency Muhammadu Buhari,
President of The Federal Republic of Nigeria
Nigerian Presidential Complex,
Aso Rock Presidential Villa,
Abuja, Nigeria.

26 June 2020

 

Dear Mr President,

I pray that through the Grace and Mercy of Allah the Almighty the current world crisis caused by the COVID-19 pandemic comes to an end as quickly as possible and that humanity may be saved from the short and long-term effects of the coronavirus as much as possible. In Nigeria, people have also lost their lives from this affliction and for this, I offer my deepest sympathies and condolences to you, your government and all citizens of your nation.

As the worldwide religious leader of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, I am writing to you directly for the first time, though our Community has been long established in Nigeria and has a large membership. With the Grace of Allah, we have established Ahmadiyya Schools and Hospitals in your country, which are serving the local people, irrespective of their faith or belief, and, as a result, our Community is well known in Nigeria.

At an international level, with the Grace of Allah, the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community is now established in more than 210 countries and territories of the world and our objective is to spread the true and peaceful teachings of Islam. In this era, according to the prophecies of the Holy Prophet of Islam (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) a Reformer was destined to come in order to bring mankind back towards God Almighty and to draw the attention of human beings towards fulfilling the rights of one another so that peace and harmony be established across the world.

According to our belief, the founder of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad of Qadian, India was sent to the world in fulfilment of the prophecies of the Holy Prophet of Islam (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him). Upon his claim, he announced that he had been commissioned by Allah the Almighty with two core objectives – to enlighten mankind of the urgent need to fulfil the rights of its Creator and of fulfilling the rights owed to one another. As you will no doubt be aware, Islam is the religion which has, more than any other, placed great emphasis on fulfilling the rights of God and of humanity.

The Holy Prophet of Islam (peace and blessings of Allah be upon him) stated that a true leader of a nation is he or she who serves his nation and his people with sincerity and humility. Certainly, the greatest service you can render to your nation is to imbue within the people of Nigeria a spirit of fulfilling the rights of God Almighty and of one another. Hence, it is my sincere request to you that, as President of Nigeria, you seek to instil these fundamental values within your nation.

Over the past century, the world has witnessed the frequent occurrence of various forms of natural disasters and the spread of deadly viruses. Certainly, the effect of the current COVID-19 pandemic has been unprecedented, causing scores of deaths globally and bringing much of the world to a virtual standstill. As we pass through such extraordinary times it is incumbent upon us to focus our attention towards Allah the Almighty, to fulfil His rights and of His Creation so that instead of incurring His Wrath, mankind may reap the fruits of His Love and Mercy.

As a direct result of the pandemic, lying ahead on the horizon is intense global economic turmoil and I fear that it could lead to nations, especially major powers, turning against one another and for hatreds and rivalries to boil over and erupt into warfare and conflict. When dominant and powerful nations become embroiled in war, even the lesser powers and developing countries are often engulfed by the conflict in some shape or form and so every effort must be made to prevent such horrifying circumstances occurring.

I believe that Africa has an important role to play in the world’s future peace and prosperity, and as the continent’s largest country by population, Nigeria can and should play a major part in this effort. If warfare does break out in other parts of the world, the African Continent should try its utmost to save itself from participation or involvement so that it can be said that at least one part of the world remains peaceful and secure and a continent where human values are upheld and the rights of Allah the Almighty are fulfilled.

Certainly, if the people of Nigeria and the Government discharge their responsibilities with honesty and sincerity, and fulfil the rights of their Creator and of one another and forever uphold the principle of absolute justice, I firmly believe that you have the capability to become one of the most developed countries in the world. Indeed, you and the other African nations together, have the potential to lead the world.

May Allah the Almighty grant you the ability to fulfil your duties as President of Nigeria in the best way so that your nation and people may prosper.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Letter to the President of Sierra Leone - His Excellency President Julius Maada Bio

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GU10 2AQ
United Kingdom

 

His Excellency President Julius Maada Bio
The President of Sierra Leone
The State House,State Avenue,
Freetown, Sierra Leone

26 June 2020

 

Dear Mr President,

Firstly, I wish to offer my deepest sympathies and sincere condolences to you, your government and the people of your nation for the loss of life and suffering caused by the ongoing pandemic in your country. Furthermore, I pray that the number of deaths and harm suffered remains as low as possible and that Sierra Leone is soon declared completely free of COVID-19.

When we examine the financial impact of the coronavirus, it is clearly apparent that it is causing immense damage to economies across the world, including those of the most powerful countries on earth. History tells us that the worst of mankind is often witnessed when economies collapse, and the wealth and power of a country is threatened. Often, selfishness and greed prevail over justice and fairness and nations seek to usurp the rights of other countries to save themselves and, in this way, devastating wars and bloody conflicts have often been ignited by economic forces.

For generations, Africa’s wealth and resources were cruelly plundered and exploited by their colonial masters. However, even after independence, it cannot be said that African countries gained complete freedom, rather independence was granted in a way that meant African nations remained somewhat dependent and at the mercy of the major powers. As a result, rich and powerful countries continued to exploit and take benefit of Africa’s resources long after they were ostensibly liberated. Now, as their economies flounder and they are faced with previously unimaginable levels of debt, they may well cast their eyes once again in the direction of African nations and renew their efforts to exploit Africa’s natural resources for their own benefit.

As mentioned, a glance at history makes it clear that wars are often sparked by economic pressures and frustrations, as nations seek to unjustly fulfil their vested interests through warfare and violence. If, and when, a Third World War breaks out, it cannot be assumed that Africa will not be drawn into the conflict because the modern world has come to resemble a global village in which each nation and continent is now more connected than ever before.

Thus, it is my heartfelt prayer that may Allah the Almighty protect Sierra Leone from any future wars or conflicts, and may He save your nation from ever again being exploited by external forces. Rather, I pray that Sierra Leone may always flourish and remain peaceful.

Furthermore, it is my sincere request to you that in order to keep your nation safe and prosperous you continually endeavour your utmost to serve your people and to raise Sierra Leone’s standing in the world so that it remains immune to the injustices and nefarious efforts of others. For this, all people within your country must stand united as one. Through unity is strength and so only if you are united can your nation rise, become truly independent and compete with the rest of the world.

Certainly, if the people of Sierra Leone and the Government discharge their responsibilities with honesty and sincerity, and fulfil the rights of their Creator and of one another and forever uphold the principle of absolute justice, I firmly believe that you have the capability to become one of the most developed countries in the world. Indeed, you and the other African nations together, have the potential to lead the world.

It is my prayer that the people of Sierra Leone be those who set aside all tribal, religious and sectarian differences for the sake of the common good and are those who treat one another with love and consideration and fulfil the rights of Allah the Almighty so that your nation remains in the protective shade of His Grace and Mercy forevermore.

With best wishes and prayers, Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Letter to the Secretary-General United Nations - His Excellency Mr. Antonio Guterres

Mubarak Mosque
Sheephatch Lane
Tilford, Surrey
GU10 2AQ
United Kingdom

 

His Excellency Mr. Antonio Guterres
Secretary-General
United Nations
New York, NY 10017

2 June 2020

Your Excellency,

Given the perilous situation that the world faces, and in light of the COVID-19 crisis, I have written to the leaders of many of the world’s major powers. As the Secretary-General of the United Nations, the principal international body charged with ensuring the peace and wellbeing of the world, a great responsibility is also placed upon your shoulders. Thus, I take this opportunity to urge you to use your platform for the benefit of all humanity.

In my view, the pre-eminent means for the United Nations to fulfil its founding objectives is for it to bring all nations of the world together on one platform, in which each country is treated equally and without prejudice, rather than bowing to the might and will of a select number of dominant world powers.

At all times, the primary objective of the United Nations should be to establish unity and trust amongst the nations of the world so that global peace may become a living reality, rather than a distant dream. For this, it is essential that the United Nations plays its role in ensuring that the rights of all nations are respected and valued. Only then will the people of the world be the recipients of the blessings and favours of God Almighty.

This virulent disease has caused immense anxiety and distress to people from all nations, irrespective of whether they be young or old, rich or poor, mighty or weak. The virus has magnified the fallibility and frailty of human beings, whereby none of us can be certain of what tomorrow shall bring.

For some months, governments have been, according to their means, striving to control the outbreak and ultimately to eliminate the threat of COVID-19 as quickly as possible. The United Nations, especially through the auspices of the World Health Organisation, has taken measures to combat the spread of the virus and to treat those who are suffering from its ill-effects and, thankfully, the results of the preventative measures and treatments seem to be working and have slowed the spread of the coronavirus.

 

Nonetheless, I consider it my duty and obligation, as the worldwide religious leader of the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community, to draw your attention towards my firm conviction that this pandemic must give all nations and their leaders pause for thought. I steadfastly believe that relying solely on material and worldly means to confront the exceptionally perilous situation the world faces is inadequate and insufficient. Rather, all nations must question why and how this virus has spread so rapidly, wreaked so much misery and caused for much of the world to be brought to a complete standstill. Through mere human activity it would not have been possible for this virus to have had such extensive and debilitating consequences and so, as a religious leader and a person of faith, I believe that the tribulations of the past few weeks have occurred according to the Decree of God Almighty and as a grave warning to mankind to reform and to forgo all forms of injustice and cruelty. This pandemic is a glaring message to mankind directing the people of the world to turn towards God Almighty and to fulfil His rights and those of our fellow human beings.

I should clarify that the Ahmadiyya Muslim Community was established in 1889 in the small Indian village of Qadian and its Founder, Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him), claimed that he was sent as a Reformer by Allah the Almighty. He was charged with reforming humanity by bringing them back towards their Creator and by drawing the attention of all mankind towards fulfilling their responsibilities and duties to one another.

Hazrat Mirza Ghulam Ahmad (peace be upon him) said:

“The matter of a person’s faith or disbelief will be decided in the Hereafter. These natural disasters or calamities that occur or through which the nations of the past were destroyed were not merely due to their disbelief. Rather, they were ruined as a result of their arrogance, transgressions and cruelties. Even the Pharaoh did not perish due to his disbelief, rather due to the injustices and brutalities he perpetrated.”

Moreover, it is not enough for us to simply be aware of our past, rather it is vital we learn the lessons that history imparts to us. Hence, we must not ignore or consider insignificant the way in which natural disasters, catastrophes or pandemics are occurring. Instead, we should acknowledge the fact that they are a manifestation of Divine Decree and a warning for mankind to relinquish all forms of injustice and to recognise God Almighty as the Creator of all Creation. In order to satisfy and draw nearer to God Almighty, it is necessary for mankind to fulfil His rights and those of His Creation.

Recently, Pope Francis publicly expressed his fear that if he were to ask God Almighty if He was satisfied with the conduct of humanity, God would respond by expressing His displeasure. Furthermore, Pope Francis implied that the prevalence of natural disasters was a response and reaction to the wrongs and negligence of today’s world. I concur with these sentiments and consider it imperative that the world’s leaders, governments and the public pay serious attention to the stark reality before us.

Indisputably, COVID-19 has shaken the world’s economy to its very core and patently the coming weeks, months and years ahead will be exceedingly hazardous and challenging. Indeed, most people do not yet fully appreciate how precarious the world will be just a few months from now. If history teaches us anything it is that when governments selfishly prioritise their own national interests over and beyond the collective interest the results are invariably catastrophic. Inevitably, economic or trade wars occur that, in turn, foster hatred and jealousy and ultimately lead to open warfare and bloody conflicts in which unimaginably destructive weapons are unleashed obliterating all that is before them.

Consequently, with all humility and sincerity, I urge you as the Secretary-General of the United Nations to formulate policies that are based on justice and which uphold the rights of all nations so that the world may be saved from further misery and destruction.

With all my heart, I hope and pray that you will pay heed and take seriously my earnest words. For the sake of the peace the world, I pray that you play your role in the formation of economic and geopolitical policies that respect the rights of all parties and through which all peoples and nations can benefit and unite.

May Allah the Almighty enable you and all other world leaders to act for the betterment of humanity and to leave behind a legacy of peace and prosperity for those who follow in our stead.

With best wishes and prayers,

Yours sincerely,

MIRZA MASROOR AHMAD

Khalifatul Masih V
HEAD OF THE WORLDWIDE
AHMADIYYA MUSLIM COMMUNITY

Copy-write on images used of leaders

  1. Pope Francis – Wikimedia Commons | Jeffrey Bruno
  2. Scott Morrison – Wikimedia Commons | Clrdms, Kristy Robinson / Commonwealth of Australia
  3. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo – Wikimedia Commons | Mission of Norway to the EU
  4. Antonio Guterres – Wikimedia Commons | Cancillería Argentina
  5. Muhammadu Buhari – Wikimedia Commons | Bayo Omoboriowo
  6. Julius Maada Bio- Shutterstock | Alexandros Michailidis
  7. Emmanual Macron – Wikimedia Commons | The White House
  8. Benjamin Netanyahu – Wikimedia Commons | The US Department of State
  9. Xi Jinping – Wikimedia Commons | Palácio do Planalto
  10. Angela Merkel – Wikimedia Commons | Raimond Spekking
  11. Narendra Modi – Wikimedia Commons | Prime Minister’s Office (GODL-India)
  12. Benjamin Gantz – Wikimedia Commons | ראובן קפוצ’ינסקי
  13. Shinzo Abe – Wikimedia Commons | Prime Minister of Japan Official
  14. Vladimir Putin – Wikimedia Commons | | http://www.kremlin.ru
  15. Boris Johnson – Wikimedia Commons | Ben Shread
  16. Donald J. Trump – Wikimedia Commons | Shealah Craighead
  17. Justin Trudeau – Wikimedia Commons | Justin Trudeau – Prime Minister of Canada